Who’s the brains of this gang?

I’ve received something like 30 copies of this pump-and-dump scam spam over the past two days, all identical except for the forged sender names:

Alright, let’s get right to it…

We’ve been out of touch for a while. I’ve been very busy looking for the next big stock that has the potential to explode and it took me months to find one.

If I can be honest, this one came to me as a god send. I got lucky. I have this friend who works at a law firm in NYC and we’ve known each other for a very long time.

Long story short, he told me that his firm is about to finalize a big takeover by a multibillion corporation. They’re buying this tiny company that is now trading at just around 10 cents a share.

I couldn’t believe my ears when I heard him say that they’re paying somewhere between $1.30 and $1.39 for the company. The deal is closing and being announced mid next week.

I could get into what the company does, but who really cares right? All we need to know is that they are in the high tech industry and that this is going to be a huge buyout.

I recommend you buy shares as soon as possible today and wait it out until you get paid over $1.30 next week. The way takeovers work is that they will just credit this price per share, in cash, to your brokerage account and in exchange will take the shares that you bought at just pennies.

I may never have another tip like this, so cash in on it while you still can.

Did you notice anything peculiar about this message?

The guy needs you to buy this do-nothing stock so you’ll artificially drive up the price for him, he can dump his holdings before the inevitable price correction, and he will walk away with a nice little profit while you get screwed.

Only one little problem: he forgot to mention what stock it is he needs you to buy.

I didn’t edit it out of the quoted mail so as not to give free publicity to the scammer — it was simply never there!

I have to chuckle at the idea of the scam-master paying good money to hire a spambot-herder to get his message out, and paying for millions of e-mail messages that are absolutely useless to him.

Spammers.  You can’t live with ’em, and you can’t kill ’em.  Yet.

This entry was posted in Say What??, This is Broken and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

